Book by phone: 808-935-6330

Hale Kai Suites - Pele Suite

Guest Rating:

Sleeps 2, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom. No pets allowed.

Hilo, HI 96720 United States

Come visit and see our gorgeous 2024 room renovations! Beds, furnishings, art, decor - everything is ALL NEW. The amazing ocean front view remains the same ;-)

Hale Kai Hawaii Suites offers four oceanfront rooms (booked individually) and a spectacular, panoramic view of the blue Pacific Ocean and Hilo Bay. We overlook the popular Honolii surfing beach in a peaceful location just 2 miles north of historic Hilo Town. Revel in the best views in Hilo while at our pool and oceanfront lanai!

The Pele Suite offers a garden view bedroom with California king bed and separate ocean view sitting room with a Hawaiian style loveseat, table and chairs, kitchenette (portable one burner cooktop, microwave, small fridge/freezer, coffee maker, hot water pot, dishes, utensils, pots and pans), WiFi, SMART TV, private bathroom with shower, ceiling fans, portable fan, no air conditioning, and sliding door to lanai. Please note: Sitting room has ocean view, bedroom has view of small walkway garden. Continental breakfast items are stocked daily and we invite all guests to swim in the pool or lounge on the oceanfront lanai.

A few NOTES: One parking spot is provided per room in this quiet residential neighborhood. All Guest Rooms are facing the ocean on the lower level of the property and there are over 20 steps down (pictured) to traverse to the rooms. Guests are responsible for carrying their luggage to their rooms. Bookings limited to 2 guests per room (age 13 years and over). Quiet hours are 9pm to 8am for the comfort of all of our guests, Mahalo!

While at Hale Kai (House on the Ocean) Hawaii, enjoy watching surfers, dolphins, and seasonal humpback whales during their annual migration to the Hawaiian Islands from the north Pacific. Hale Kai Hawaii is recommended in the leading online sites and guidebooks for the Hawaiian Islands, including TripAdvisor, Frommer's, Fodors, Lonely Planet, Off the Beaten Path, Ulysses, Rough, Moon, and Hawaii, The Big Island Revealed.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Bed & Breakfast
Unit Code HKP
Beds 1 king bed
Bathrooms 1 bathroom
Rooms Sleeps 2
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities king, shower, toilet, rain forests, restaurants, volcano, waterfalls, Television, Smart TV, Hair Dryer, Internet, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Towels Provided, Wifi, Free Wifi, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Microwave, Refrigerator, Toaster, eco tourism, photography, scenic drives, sight seeing, walking, whale watching, Ocean View, Oceanfront, Communal Pool, other, swimming, non smoking only, not suitable for children, pets not allowed, Bed & Breakfast, flexible, Included in Price, recommended, Adventure, Away From It All, Historic, Romantic, Enhanced cleaning practices, Clean with disinfectant, No-contact check-in and check-out, High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant, Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
Kitchen Kitchenette, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Mini-Refrigerator
Living Ceiling Fans, Linens, High Speed Internet, No Phone
Outdoor Patio, Shared Pool, Picnic Table and Seating
Geographic Near Beach, On Bay or Sound, On Ocean Cliffs
Entertainment Cable TV, Smart TV
Average Manager Rating (Based on 753 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 38 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
97% of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Nice Place to Stay, Close but not in Town

    Stayed 2 days ending in January, 2024

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Centennial, CO recommends this vacation rental

    Great suite with nice porch and fresh fruit breakfest.

    • Manager Responded on 2/17/2024

      Mahalo for your review, Richard. Come stay again anytime! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew Salt Water Real Estate, Hilo HI

  •  
  • Beautiful Views

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Sarnia, ON recommends this vacation rental

    Love the views! Would highly recommend this unit/property. Loved to watch the surfers/sunrises. Lovely breakfasts!

    • Manager Responded on 11/21/2023

      Mahalo for your review! Come stay again anytime. Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew Salt Water Real Estate, Hilo HI

  •  
  • Absolutely perfect

    Stayed 5 days ending in July, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Amanda P from Portland, OR recommends this vacation rental

    Our stay at Hale Kai couldn’t have been any better. The apartment was lovely. The location is fantastic and that VIEW! Wow! We will definitely be back!

    • Manager Responded on 8/5/2023

      Mahalo nui for your review, Amanda. We look forward to hosting you again! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew Salt Water Real Estate, Hilo HI

  •  
  • Surfing Geckos

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Matthew A recommends this vacation rental

    Perched above Honolii Bay one can hear the surf pounding on the cliff. Look over the balcony and watch them scrambling for set waves. The friendly geckos are busy keeping the bug population at a minimum.
    What a fantastic place to stay when visiting Hilo!

    • Manager Responded on 5/23/2023

      Mahalo nui for your poetic review, Matthew. I loved reading it. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll keep us in mind for future trips to lovely Hilo town :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew Salt Water Real Estate, Hilo HI

  •  
  • Beautiful views

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    John R from Ballwin, MO recommends this vacation rental

    The space was just enough for us. We loved the breakfast provided each morning while watching the sunrise. Great location to access Hilo. Parking was a bit tight but manageable. We would stay again!

    • Manager Responded on 5/2/2023

      Mahalo for your review, John. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to hosting you next time you visit Hilo!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Beautiful and very restful place.

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Wahiawa, HI recommends this vacation rental

    I was given the wrong address of the vacation home but luckily when I arrived at the listed address the owner of the vacation rental was there. He was nice enough to take us to the correct property. The ceiling lights in the kitchen were out and the battery for the remote was dead so we were unable to watch the annual Merrie Monarch hula competition on TV--somewhat disappointed.
    Other then that this is a beautiful property and enjoyed the ocean view from my room.

    • Manager Responded on 4/22/2023

      Mahalo for your review, Mae. We were surprised that you used the address on the receipt from our payment processing company, which was home of the business owner, instead of the detailed directions in the arrival instructions that we emailed several times. That's never happened before. We're glad we were able to get you pointed in the right direction quickly. Shucks, I wish you'd let us know about the fan and batteries. We would have had them seen to right away. We're glad that you still enjoyed your visit! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Hale Kai was the perfect stay!

    Stayed 3 days ending in April, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Melanie C from Kihei, HI recommends this vacation rental

    We couldn’t have picked a better place to stay for a long weekend away. The location was beautiful and secluded with an ocean view surrounded by beautiful plant life, but only a 5 minute drive from hilo town. The breakfast was perfect with different fruits and pastries every day. The hot tub and pool were clean and worked well. Checking in and out was so easy and the staff was so consistent and helpful even though we didn’t have to speak with anyone! The place itself could use some updating but it did not take away from our great our stay was. We will definitely be staying here again for more weekends away:)

    • Manager Responded on 4/19/2023

      Mahalo Melanie! We look forward to hosting you again at Hale Kai Suites :) Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Pele Suite

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Indianapolis, IN recommends this vacation rental

    Stayed at the Pele Suite and had an excellent experience. The location is right off the Pacific Ocean and near many attractions. I highly recommend this property.

    • Manager Responded on 4/22/2023

      Mahalo for your review and recommendation, Garrett. We hope you'll keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to Hilo! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Clean and view was wonderful

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Amy B from Merrimack, NH recommends this vacation rental

    It was the rainy season, so the pool was full of leaves, etc. (from the wind), which was not the fault of anyone except the weather. Watching the surfers in the morning was a highlight and the breakfast made mornings easy!

    • Manager Responded on 3/21/2023

      Mahalo for your review, Amy. It was a WET winter this year (I mean, it's usually wet here, but this winter was extra LOL). We're glad you enjoyed your visit anyway. We hope you'll keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to Hilo! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Fantastic

    Stayed 2 days ending in February, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Arthur S from Lincoln City, OR recommends this vacation rental

    The wife really enjoyed the room and still talks about it. Will stay again

    • Manager Responded on 3/16/2023

      Mahalo for your review, Arthur. Awwww, I love that we made such a good impression. Bring the Mrs back again soon!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Excellent place to stay

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2023

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Joseph S from St. Pete Beach, FL recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed at the HILO Hale Kai Suites for 1 week and were more than satisfied. We stayed in the Pele suite and loved every minute of our stay. The view from our room was great, we saw whales every day and surfers catching the big ones. The breakfasts with the fresh fruit and muffins every morning was really a treat. If we return to Hilo we would definitely stay there again.

    • Manager Responded on 3/16/2023

      Mahalo nui for your review, Joseph. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Come stay again anytime!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Pepe suite review

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Clinton, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a very relaxing enjoyable stay in this apartment. It has a beautiful view and it’s just far enough out of town to be quiet and peaceful but close enough to easily go back and forth into Hilo.

    • Manager Responded on 11/15/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Dana & Doug. We hope you'll keep us in mind for your next Hilo visit! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Great location, pleasant view, kind host

    Stayed 2 days ending in November, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Altamonte Springs, FL recommends this vacation rental

    This unit is very convenient to the Hilo airport and the local attractions on the eastern side of the island. The host is very kind and considerate. Our plan was to be out all day, and to only use the unit for bed and breakfast, so this was a perfect choice for us.

    • Manager Responded on 12/26/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Louis. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Come stay again anytime! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Wonderful stay!!

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Margit O from San jose, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Beautiful views, thoughtful breakfasts and comfortable beds. We highly recommend this property! I have traveled to Hilo twice a year for work. One of the best air bnb’s!!

    • Manager Responded on 10/20/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Margit. We hope you'll keep us in mind for your next Hilo visit :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • We Would Stay Here Again!

    Stayed 5 days ending in October, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Joseph S from Long Beach, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We spent 5 nights in the Pele Suite and it was wonderful. The space was a perfect size for us - living area, small kitchen, very small bathroom and nice size bedroom. This suite also had an awesome balcony with table and chairs which allowed us to have our morning coffee and meals looking at the ocean and sky. The daily breakfast was an additional delight - way to much food most days but awesome. My only two call outs - there isn't an air-conditioner and it gets warm. They do have a couple of ceiling fans with a portable fan which helps but just be aware. Also, the people in the house above us could be a bit loud before 8 AM. We can understand noise during the day - but early in the morning is a bit bothersome. Even considering these two issues - we would stay there again.

    • Manager Responded on 11/15/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Joseph. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. We're so sorry about the noise - we JUST found out that the owner was having some light construction work done upstairs that we never were told about :-( We are so sorry if it caused any inconvenience. We would love to host you again anytime!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Hilo B & B

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Salem, OR recommends this vacation rental

    The unit was very nice. Great view and beautiful surroundings on the property. Not really walking distance to town but just a short 5 minute drive. The bed was quite comfortable. Our interaction with the property management team was very good...very responsive. Jen, the young lady we dealt with on a daily basis was spectacular. She was always asking if there was anything else she could do for us.

    A couple of constructive suggestions. 1) please provide dish towels, we’re not sure how many people like trying even a few dishes with paper towels. 2) Give a heads up about the evening serenade from the coqui frogs. 3) Consider providing a couple of additional plastic glasses for use around the swimming pool.

    Wonderful unit!

    • Manager Responded on 10/3/2022

      Hi Kelley, Mahalo for your review. We are so very glad you enjoyed your time in the Pele Suite :-) I have passed on your excellent suggestions about dish towels and plastic cups to management. As far as coqui frogs go.... we used to mention them in the early days, the first 5 to 7 years of their steady spread. But we are going on 30 years of coquis being everywhere here, and figure that if guests do even a little bit of research on the area they will be properly informed. It would be like telling every guest that it can be rainy here LOL We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and would welcome you back anytime!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Great palce

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Pierre R from QUÉBEC, QC recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoy our stay at your place. It was really fun to thak our breafast in front of the ocean !!

    • Manager Responded on 10/20/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Pierre! Please keep us in mind for your next Hilo visit :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Relax by the shore

    Stayed 2 days ending in July, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Deanna Y from Aptos, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We were pleasantly surprised with this accommodation. Having booked it last minute I was concerned however my concerns were quickly dissipated by the professional interactions with Shawna. Our room was spacious, well equipped and the perfect hideaway for our sightseeing home base as we explored the volcanoes from land and air. I would definitely keep this property in mind when we return to the Big Island!

    • Manager Responded on 7/18/2022

      Mahalo nui for your review, Deanna. We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and honored that you'd consider us for a return visit. Come back anytime!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Nice

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Weaverville, NC does not recommend this vacation rental.

    This was a great place to stay and visit the many natural wonders on the Hilo side of the island. The view from the unit was spectacular. Breakfast was good. We did not use the pool or hot tub because they were not clean. We did not see anyone clean them while we were there (although we were gone during the day). There are not laundry service available, which did not match what we read in the listing. We did enjoy our stay overall.

    • Manager Responded on 6/19/2022

      Aloha Cynthia, the pool and hot tub are cleaned weekly. The pool is showing wear on the paint and is scheduled for repainting in August 2022. We assure you (and future guests) that it is clean...just ready for upkeep :) We can't find anywhere that our listing states laundry facilities are available - they are not. We're glad you enjoyed the location and breakfast! Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Slice of Paradise

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from West Lafayette, IN recommends this vacation rental

    We loved our stay in the Pele Suite, we happily could have stayed much longer, it is a clean, bright, quiet, well-supplied unit. There is no AC but there are plenty of windows that can let in the ocean breeze while maintaining privacy, so peaceful to fall asleep to the waves. Another plus, the king bed is quite comfy! Our fridge was stocked each day with fresh and delicious breakfast items, we enjoyed them on the deck while soaking in the sun and watching the surfers. There is a designated parking space for the unit and it's a 5-minute drive to Hilo, 10-15 minute drive to other local attractions, very convenient. I highly recommend the Pele Suite!

    • Manager Responded on 5/30/2022

      Mahalo nui for your review, Patrick. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and are honored that you would recommend us. Come back, anytime!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Hale Kai Suites - Pele Suite - wonderful stay in Hilo

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jennifer L from Fall City, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed the comfortable, spacious suite with balcony overlooking the ocean, and the pool, and the breakfasts.

    • Manager Responded on 5/30/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Jennifer. We are happy you enjoyed your time at Hale Kai. Come back soon! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Big Island

    Stayed 4 days ending in April, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bob W from Burein, WA recommends this vacation rental

    View was fantastic. Setting was fantastic. Location was fantastic. Breakfast provided was just right for us. The only disappointment was the hot tub not working and the pool was uninviting (not very clean) so we did not use. And we are pool and hot tub owners ourselves and the pool surface needs a facelift.

    • Manager Responded on 5/5/2022

      Aloha Bob, thanks for the review. We've just gotten a quote for refinishing the pool. It is cleaned weekly, but the finish needs a facelift as you say. The hot tub has been a challenge of waiting for parts...working on this! Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Comfy

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Debra O from Plano, TX recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great visit-loved the breakfast tray. We had everything we needed. This is the second time I’ve reviewed this

    • Manager Responded on 5/9/2022

      Mahalo for your reviews, Debra. We apologize for any inconvenience! Our software sends a review request to all guests, as does whatever booking site you used. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave two reviews. Take care, and come stay again anytime!! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Absolutely Wonderful

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Steve S from San Marcos, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Pele suite was quite comfortable. Lanai with fantastic views, perfect for the continental breakfast. Close to Hilo. Quiet location woth the sound of gently breaking waves.

    • Manager Responded on 4/4/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Steve. We hope you'll keep us in mind for your next visit to Hilo :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • A great ocean view

    Stayed 2 days ending in March, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Keaau, HI recommends this vacation rental

    The view from our room's lanai was spectacular. The room itself was pretty basic and we wished that there had been more attention given to the decor and furnishings so it was more pleasant to be in the room at night when the view is pretty much gone. A few suggestions - our room was listed as having a Smart TV. It did not. Being stuck with just basic cable service isn't worthy of a property that charges over $200 a night. Install a Smart TV so people can stream or add a DVD player. The furniture in the living room area of the room is not comfortable. It would also be nice if there was a second TV there in case one person wants to sleep and the other wants to stay up. There's no advantage to taking a 2 room suite unless both rooms are equally comfortable and inviting. We also would have appreciated an extra chair or two or ottomans on the lanai so we could put our feet up. I have sciatica and can't be in a sitting position too long or that will trigger a flare up. I moved one of the chairs from the room outside but had to be very careful that it didn't get wet as it rained while we were there. Lastly, the pool water's temperature should be kept much higher since the hot tub is not working. The hot tub was working when I booked the room so I was very disappointed that neither the pool nor the hot tub were usable for us. Had I known that, I would not have booked the room since it's a treat for us to have access to those amenities. This was a belated birthday stay for me so that made things worse. Two bright spots in our stay were your staff. Shawna was very helpful when we needed to change our reservation dates twice due to unforeseen circumstances. Jenn went out of her way to make sure I had everything I'd requested before my arrival. She also asked if we had any requests for breakfast the next day then tailored our fruit plate. Overall, we had a good time but aren't sure that we'd want to come back unless some of our suggestions are taken to heed.

    • Manager Responded on 4/12/2022

      Aloha Theresa, thanks for your review and we're sorry the stay didn't check all the boxes. The hot tub is fixed now (getting parts proved to take longer than usual). The pool is not heated so there's not an option to make it warm. Thank you for noticing the work and care of our team especially Shawna and Jen. We will take your suggestions about the room to the owner. Aloha and Mahalo, The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Lovely oceanfront with stellar views

    Stayed 5 days ending in March, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Gulf Breeze, FL recommends this vacation rental

    Lovely oceanfront rental with stellar views! We loved to have our coffee on the lanai in the mornings and watch the sunrise. There was a group of surfers who would ride the surfs every morning close by and was fun to watch. We also saw a couple of whales in the far distance as they came up & blew their blowholes! The place itself was clean and comfortable. It does not have AC so some afternoons might get a little warm-that’s when you open up all the doors & windows to let the air circulate-it was not an issue with us. The king bed was comfortable. The kitchen is very small and comprised of a dorm size refrigerator & freezer, small sink and some dishes, cups, glasses etc., along with a small 4 or 5 cup coffee maker and coffee. The breakfasts consisted of mostly fruit with either 2-4 hard boiled eggs or store bought slices of Bundt cake and milk. The breakfasts could be improved but it was fine for us. The hot tub was broken and unusable but I think you could swim in the pool if you wanted but we did not. This gem is located in a real neighborhood and felt very safe. Also, since we were celebrating a birthday, they were kind enough to arrange to have flowers on the table & bubbly chilled upon our arrival. We will definitely stay here again if we ever come back to Hilo (which we also loved)!

    • Manager Responded on 3/28/2022

      Mahalo nui for your review and for the excellent tips for future guests, Gerald. The hot tub is up and running again - replacement parts can be a logistics problem in our extremely remote area! But we are so happy that you enjoyed your visit anyway :-) Please come back anytime. We'd love to host you again. Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Great Experience!

    Stayed 2 days ending in March, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Sierra B from Crofton, MD recommends this vacation rental

    The views were great and in a quiet neighborhood. Also in a very convenient location close to all that Hilo has to offer. We were able to catch the sunrise from our patio/pool area while listening to the waves crashing without any disturbance. Unfortunately the hot tub was down, but the pool was open. We were provided a small breakfast of fresh tropical fruits, a couple hard boiled eggs, milk, yogurt, and some granola and oatmeal. Wish we would have stayed longer!

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Sierra! Apologies about the hot tub.... One of the few drawbacks to life on this beautiful island is that it's 3000 miles from anything and it can take a while for parts to be delivered when something needs repair. The new control panel for the hot tub should be arriving any day. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Come back soon and stay as long as you can!! We'd love to host you again :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Wonderful

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mona P from Rockford, MI recommends this vacation rental

    Best view! Loved the breakfast every morning!

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2022

      Mahalo for your review, Mona! Keep us in mind if you visit Hilo again - we'd love to welcome you back :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Great little B&B

    Stayed 3 days ending in January, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Gilford, NH recommends this vacation rental

    Great little B&B type property!!! Great view, recommend the Pele suite. Was great stay in Hilo close to town. As long as you ok with being a low key B&B.

    • Manager Responded on 1/31/2022

      'Low Key B&B' is the perfect way to describe Hale Kai Suites, thank you Kenneth! While a continental breakfast is included daily, it is not the hot breakfast with conversation that some expect in a B&B. The vibe changed so much because of the pandemic! That said, it is a wonderful experience and UNBEATABLE views! Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Lovely stay in North Hilo

    Stayed 1 day ending in January, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Naples, FL recommends this vacation rental

    Fabulous views from the Pele Suite. Large suite, comfortable bed, attentive staff. Great stay

    • Manager Responded on 1/20/2022

      We're so glad you enjoyed your time in the Pele Suite at Hale Kai, Laurie! Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to Hilo. We would love to host you agian. Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • November 2021 visit - 3 nights

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Terry R from Santa Fe, NM recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice location, nice accommodations, great views, very nice hot tub, surprisingly pool was too cold to use. Reported fluorescent light bulb of closet missing first night so impossible to use as extremely dark and it was never replaced the three nights we were there, bed very nice and , Upstairs full time residents had very loud sex at 6am, not a good alarm to get up see a beautiful sunrise!

    • Manager Responded on 12/2/2021

      Aloha Terry and thanks for the honest review. We've followed up on the missed communication to maintenance about the light bulb - our apologies that did not get handled during your stay. As to the 'awakening' you endured .... we had the (awkward) conversation with the upstairs guest and what you heard could not have been coming from them. We can safely assume you heard another Suites guest (insert whoopsie face here). I guess the moral of the story here is that 'sound travels' and guests may want to know that they should use vocal restraint ;) Aloha, Jess and The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Gorgeous!

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Durango, CO recommends this vacation rental

    What an amazing room and view! We were very pleased. The hot tub was a nice perk after traveling.

    • Manager Responded on 11/11/2021

      Thank you so much for your review, Charles. An ocean view hot tub soak after a day of exploring is pretty sweet, right?! Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to Hilo. We would love to host you again! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Coffee and ocean views

    Stayed 4 days ending in October, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Sacramento, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed in the Pele Suite for 4 nights while on the east side of the island. The kitchen was stocked daily with coffee, fruits, local bread and jams, and oatmeal each day for breakfast, which we enjoyed on the lanai overlooking the bay and the surfers. We loved relaxing in the hot tub and pool, but would have appreciated somewhere comfortable to lounge and read when it was raining. The living room furniture in the Pele Suite left something to be desired, especially considering the space available in the room. Overall we were very pleased with the cleanliness, location, and accommodation. The view certainly made this property worth the stay!

    • Manager Responded on 10/19/2021

      Aloha Nicole and thank you for the review. We are in the process of replacing the loveseat in the Pele Suite to a bigger piece as we speak! (late October 2021) We agree it will greatly improve the comfort of the room. Aloha, Jess and The Salt Water Hawaii Crew

  •  
  • Hilo ocean view

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kathleen K from Pahoa, HI recommends this vacation rental

    Great stay. Very quite and peaceful. Great ocean view and enjoyed the pool and nearby Hilo ocean parks. Would definitely stay again.

    • Manager Responded on 9/19/2021

      Mahalo for your review, Kathleen! Come back anytime :-) Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Love, love, love!

    Stayed 2 days ending in September, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Catherine S from Redington Shores, Florida recommends this vacation rental

    This place was beautiful! We stayed in smallest suite, it was the only one available when I booked, but it was perfect in size and comfort. Unfortunately we power vacation and were never there to actually relax. The view is the BEST. just amazing. We always got back after dark, but the mornings were awesome! The surfers were out every morning, I just loved it. The breakfast availability was delightful. I don't think I have ever tried papaya, I love it now! Unfortunately, every fruit DOES taste better in Hawaii. So make sure to eat your fill! First night we got there, it was already dark of course, but the sounds of the frogs and the crashing ocean waves was the stuff of dreams! I wish I could share the video I took just to remember how they sounded. We never did find the shared space in the house. I felt uncomfortable walking past other rooms in the search. But there is one. The only downside was the parking. Could be tricky for most people. Thankfully my husband is an expert car handler! Lol. Just make sure you have a small car!
    I would DEFINITELY come back to this place. I will be in Hilo again soon, but only for one night, so won't be able to stay here because there is a two night minimum I think. But I absolutely will stay here again the next time!!! Mahalo!!

    • Manager Responded on 10/10/2021

      Catherine, your review made me smile from ear to ear :-D So glad you enjoyed your visit to Hilo. Maybe we do need better signage to point the way to the rooms and common area - but the fact that your concern shows SO much Aloha. Parking a large vehicle would be tricky in the small parking lot - kudos to your hubby ;-) We hope to host you again next time you want some papaya snacks! Warmest Aloha, The Salt Water Hawaii Vacations Crew

  •  
  • Beautiful Views

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Staten Island, NY recommends this vacation rental

    Salt Water vacation is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the beautiful views, the pool and the hot tub. In the morning we ate breakfast that was provided by our host outside on our porch overlooking the ocean. Our room was very comfortable and immaculately clean. I would absolutely recommend this spot for a vacation getaway.

    • Manager Responded on 8/2/2021

      Wonderful, thank you Carol! We hope you can come and stay with us again. Aloha, Jess, Shawna, Jenn and the rest of the Salt Water Hawai'i Crew

  •  
  • Beautiful home with gorgeous views

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Tara S from Douglasville, GA recommends this vacation rental

    Beautiful and clean with gorgeous views. Quiet location close to Hilo town. Service was excellent. The only drawback for me was no air conditioning. The evenings and early mornings were comfortable but afternoons would get a little warm. Other than that it was perfect and thoroughly enjoyed.

    • Manager Responded on 7/1/2021

      Thank you Tara, we enjoyed having you stay at Hale Kai Hawai'i! Aloha, Jess, Shawna and Tara

  •  
  • Charming

    Stayed 2 days ending in June, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Galena, IL recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful 2 night stay.Beautiful views. Friendly staff. While an older building, it has been kept up beautifully and was very clean.

    • Manager Responded on 7/1/2021

      Mahalo for the lovely review Gary! Aloha, Jes, Shawna, Jen and The Salt Water Crew

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Promo Savings: Remove
Discounted Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
What's this?

A promo code is for special discounts and may have been provided to you in either a newsletter, email or other correspondence from the manager or owner of this property.

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
19.75754,-155.090622

Salt Water Vacations - Hawai'i 305 Wailuku DriveSuite 6A Hilo, Hawaii 96720 808-935-6330 stay@saltwater-hawaii.com

© 1999 - 2024 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon